3 Ingredient Vegan Veggie Burgers

blackbeans2014

This was one of my most popular recipes on my Melomeals blog. Fortunately, I have backed up most of my recipes and will be sharing some of them here.  I am copying this directly from the post. I created this during my Vegan For $3.33 a Day days. If I sound a little defensive towards the end of the post, it is because I used to get a lot of emails and comments about whatever type of food I was blogging about and I knew that people would freak out about the Onion Soup Mix. Even though I specifically asked people not to comment on it, I still, TO THIS DAY get comments and emails about it.


Today I am going to share a recipe that has some processed product in it. I avoid these types of foods most of the time, but sometimes they come

in handy for me and I’m sure that some of my readers will feel the same way. The ingredient is Onion Soup Mix.

The other day I went to the store with $3.33 cash in hand. I wasn’t sure what I was going to buy for the day, but  onions were on the agenda. I

could have bought 5 lbs of onions for 2.99 which is what I usually do. That usually lasts for 2 weeks. I wandered around the produce aisle and

saw a huge bunch of kale for $1.69. That went into my basket. I had a decent stash of dried beans at home and I planned on making some soups and

burgers, but I needed onions for those. Buying the onions would put me over my budget. I didn’t want to buy smaller amounts and pay so much more

per pound, so I ended up getting some Onion Soup Mix instead of the onions

I decided to create super simple Veggie Burger Base that can be used as is or dressed up and turned into a sausage patty or bean ball.

Don’t leave out condiments! Check out my Lower Fat Vegenaise Alternative, Chipotle Sauce and Sugar Free Ketchup recipes to dress these babies

up!

Serve a side of my Low Fat Potato Salad and you’ve got yourself a delicious, stick to your ribs meal.

3 Ingredient Veggie Burger Base

3 Cups HOT Beans (HOT means TEMPERATURE)
2 Cups old fashioned oats (rolled oats, uncooked)
1 envelope onion soup mix
Hot bean liquid if needed to bring the mixture together

Method:

Mix everything together
Let mixture cool
Form into patties and cook over medium heat in a cast iron skillet for 5 minutes a side

Here’s a video of what the mixture should look like:

Meatballs

½ batch Veggie Burger Base
½ t oregano
1 t garlic powder
Pinch ground fennel
¼ t rubbed sage or pinch sage powder
1 t balsamic
Pepper
Form into balls and microwave for 10 minutes. You want these to be hard, dry and not edible when you’re finished. Simmer in sauce for 10

minutes before serving.

balls2014

In anticipation of your questions:

Yes, the bean mixture needs to be hot.
I really do mean to microwave the bean balls until they are hard as rocks. The texture when reconstituted is much better when you do it this

way. You can bake them, but they will be mushy.  If you must bake them, do so at a low heat, say around 250 until they are very dry. I haven’t done it, so I’m not sure how long it will take, maybe an hour? Let me know if you try it and how it worked out for you.
I use home cooked beans and cooking liquid which has not been salted. I think canned beans in addition to the soup mix would be too salty.
You can use whatever kind of beans you like, make sure they are very well cooked and HOT!
You can bake the burgers, but they will  be very dry. The cooking methods I use in my recipes are generally tailored to the specific recipe.

A baked veggie burger will be a much wetter mixture than a stove top burger. If you still want to bake this burger then add more bean liquid

than you think is necessary.
If you don’t have onion soup mix, you can use couple T soy sauce and a couple T onion powder.
If you are offended by said onion soup mix the don’t make the recipe! It is not necessary to email me warning me of the dangers of processed foods!

5 thoughts on “3 Ingredient Vegan Veggie Burgers

  1. I have read many of the comments people have left for you. I hope my comments are always gracious and grateful. Love your food & philosophy!! I was very distressed when I couldn’t find your recipes for one day.

    Could you imagine if people could comment on the Fanny Farmer cookbook? Yeesh.

  2. Do you think this would work with other beans such as white beans or chickpeas? Can’t wait to try it out in meatball form!

Leave a Reply

