Homemade Coconut Milk

coconut milk Canned coconut  milk is so decadent and delicious in curries and desserts, but in my day to day life, I don’t really want all of the fat, so I like to make my own alternative.

I use unsweetened, dried coconut flakes. I like to make big batches and freeze them in 1-2 cup containers. The milk goes bad after a couple days, so the freezer is my friend for sure! I have a Vita Mix; I have never done this in a normal blender, so I don’t know if it will work. My intuition tells me it will, as long as you let the coconut steep.

This makes 8 cups.

1.5 cups dried, unsweetened coconut flakes (I use Bob’s Red Mill)

7 cups boiling water

Pinch salt, sweetener and vanilla are optional , depending on what you are using it for. You can definitely divide it into two quart mason jars and make one sweet and one plain.

Method: Pour boiling water over coconut in glass or metal bowl. Let steep until mixture is room temperature. Blend until it is very smooth, then strain through cheesecloth or a paint straining bag. Add pinch salt and vanilla/sweetener if desired.

1 cup milk has around 75 calories, 7 grams of fat and 1 gram of protein.

You can use the leftover pulp in baking or veggie burgers.

One thought on “Homemade Coconut Milk

Leave a Reply

