Jamaican Habanero Sauce

hotsauce 018

Baby it’s cold outside! This gives me an excuse (Who am I kidding, I don’t need and excuse!) to make hot sauce!

I scored some hot peppers the other day at Market Basket. I experimented with the Thai Bird Chilies to make this cultured hot sauce which I will post about soon.

reviews 016Back to the Habanero Sauce..  I would have preferred Scotch Bonnets, but they are hard to find, so Habaneros stand in well. Scotch Bonnets seem a touch less hot and maybe a bit sweeter and fruiter than Habaneros.

I scored some Green Habaneros for a buck at Market Basket.  I didn’t measure, but I used around 20 peppers and 10 cloves of garlic. I pulsed the peppers in the food processor with these ingredients:

  • Salthotsauce 014
  • Soy Sauce
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Yellow Mustard
  • Fresh Thyme
  • Fresh Rosemary
  • Black Pepper
  • Allspice
  • Some pre-made seasoning we got in Jamaica
  • Soy Sauce
  • Cilantro
  • Stevia

Once it was pureed, I brought it up to a boil, then reduced the heat so it simmered for 5  minutes or so. It’s now cooling in the fridge.

I’ll bet a little bit of fresh ginger would be really good addition.  I love making my own sauces. They add the flavor I crave for so few calories! I’ll bet this would be really good with black eyed peas and cabbage , served with a roasted sweet potato.

Leave a Reply

