Romesco Sauce

 

apps 046

Over the summer, we had a small dinner party that was focused on bread. We may have entered an online bread iron chef like contest 🙂 We may have won said contest.

The appetizer course consisted of French Bread, Roasted Garlic – Herb Olive Oil, and Romesco Sauce.

Year ago, I was the Chef at Old Vines Wine Bar in Kennebunk, Maine and Romesco Sauce was on the menu, so I have made a lot of this sauce and it always takes me back in time when I taste it.

Since I like to use what I have on hand, I veered off course a bit with this batch, but it was fantastic! I used smoked almonds, roasted raw red peppers, red onions, and garlic with smoked paprika and lots of olive oil, and used Red Wine Vinegar instead of Sherry Vinegar. I also added a tiny bit of chipotle and just a TEENY pinch of cardamom. I know the cardamom is strange, but trust me, it’s super delicious as long as you only use a pinch.

I love using Romesco in place of red sauce. I have made an outstanding focaccia and topped it with Romesco and Manchego Cheese and sprinkled fresh thyme and some Spanish Green Olives on top. I wish I had a picture of that one.  I have also used my cashew cheese for a vegan version of the focaccia.

This sauce freezes really well too, so I usually make a big batch so I can pull some out of the freezer.

Leave a Reply

