934642_559170330808422_1462678019_nOh how I adore soup! It is definitely one of my most favorite things. I used leftovers in many of my creations, and this was no exception. My Roasted Garlic Marinara created an amazing base that allowed this soup to come together in 30 minutes, but taste like it had been simmering all day.

I added a couple glugs of extra virgin olive oil to a heavy bottom pan, then placed some crushed red pepper flakes, a tiny bit of rubbed sage, and rosemary along with 1 medium onion, 1 carrot, 1 stalk celery, and 4 cloves of minced garlic. I turned the heat to medium, threw a pinch of smoked sea salt into the pot and cooked for 5 minutes, then I added 1/2 cup dry Β quinoa and 1 small eggplant chopped. I tossed everything in the oil/spice mixture and added another pinch of sea salt and some black pepper and cooked for another 5 minutes. I deglazed with some red wine, then added 1.5 cups of cooked white beans,3 cups of marinara and 3 cups of water; turned the heat to high and brought to a boil. I let it boil for 5 minutes, then turned the head down to medium-low and covered the soup and simmered it for 15 minutes. Finally, I added around 1 cup of fresh basil and tasted/adjusted seasonings. A little good quality lemon pepper finished it off nicely. This soup freezes really well and is somewhat addictive. I love the buttery texture of the eggplant.. which I was able to achieve without much fat! It’s all about seasoning and cooking it in water/broth until it’s done.

Leave a Reply

