Pickle Me!

pickles

Oh how I love to refrigerator pickles! (Fermented pickles are even better!).. When I have some veggies I need to use, pickles are one of the first things I think of.

As you all know, I love heat, so it’s rare I will pickle something without it. For this batch, I used Carrot, Daikon, Jalapeno, Onion, and Turmeric. I made a simple brine out of sea salt, water, and vinegar, threw in a couple bay leaves, coriander seeds, and peppercorns. It’s a lovely little bit of spicy deliciousness that will compliment many meals…  try some on sandwiches, or in a salad! I love hummus and pickles together. Later today, I’m making some Hummus with Caramelized Onions and Smoked Paprika… I can’t wait to make a little appetizer plate with the pickled veggies, hummus and homemade pita chips for The Boyfriend and I to enjoy when he comes home from work tonight.

 

Leave a Reply

