Tacos with Homemade Corn Tortillas

DSC_0019.jpg

I’ve been having so much fun with my tortilla press. Fresh corn tortillas are the best! I use masa, water, and a tiny pinch of salt. I cook them in my cast iron. I used to make them years ago when I was married and raising my kids, but stopped… and now I will not go back!

The above picture was my breakfast the other day.. I am in love with the Costco Sweet Kale Chopped Salad Kit. It’s a mixture of broccoli (stems), Brussels sprouts, cabbage, kale and chicory. It comes with both pumpkin seeds and dried cranberries, which I use in other applications (like Granola!).. and a dressing which I don’t use at all. It’s so convenient to just grab a handful of delicious veggies for salads, sandwiches, stir fries..

I topped the tortilla with some spicy TVP based chili. I used my “quick mole” and homemade salsa to flavor the chili along with onions, garlic, peppers, and jalapenos.

chili

The Boyfriend enjoyed this chili on top of a hot dog… which is fine with me! I’m glad I can get plant-based goodness into him.. and he loved it!

I digress; back to my meal! I topped the tortilla with my chili along with the greens, homemade salsa.. and served it with a side of slow cooked pintos. The salsa was a cooked salsa… with jalapenos, garlic, onion, culantro, cumin, coriander, lime juice and canned diced tomatoes. The culantro is such a great alternative to cilantro! Much stronger and so packed with flavor.

It was, of course, very hot and spicy because I never seed the chilies I work with. (If I am cooking for myself).. when I cook for clients or restaurants, I seed them!

 

 

 

One thought on “Tacos with Homemade Corn Tortillas

Leave a Reply

